AARTO demerit system coming into effect from 1 July 2021, here is what you need to know.


A cautionary warning to all South African motorist as of 1 July 2021 the new Administrative Adjudication of Road Traffic Offences (“AARTO”) demerit system for road traffic infringements will come into effect.

Here is what you need to know about the new system:

  • Every driver will start with 0 demerits points on their licence.
  • If a driver accumulates 12 demerits points their drivers’ licence it will be suspended for 3 months.
  • A driving licence can only be suspended twice after which it will be cancelled.
  • Here is list of violations and there respective fines and demerit points:
ViolationFineDemerit points
Vehicle not registeredR1 0003
Vehicle not licensedR1 0003
Vehicle with no number platesCourt6
Vehicle with only one number plateR5002
Driver not licensedR1 2504
Drivers licence not in vehicleR5001
Disobeying stop sign or robotR7502
Exceeding speed limit 11 – 15 km/hR2500
Exceeding speed limit 16 – 20 km/hR5001
Exceeding speed limit 21 – 25 km/hR7502
Exceeding speed limit >40 km/hCourt6
Failing to keep to the leftR1 0003
Failing to use indicatorsR5001
Failing to stop at an accidentCourt6
Driving under the influenceCourt6
Furnishing false informationCourt6

South African COVID-19 Information Portal

iBusiness on COVID-19
Protect yourself and others around you



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here